Stuff Zeffler Photo taught me

3045266650_9740955331_oYou would think in seven years of photography work I would have learned much about lighting, composition, the mechanics of fancy gear or whatever.

Sure, I learned some of that. But that stuff doesn’t really matter. The only people who care if you’re technically proficient are other photographers.

With the end of Zeffler Photo this month, this feels like a good time to share some things I’ve learned as a photographer.

  • It’s important to do stuff where you have no idea what you are doing. You’ll get better. You’ll understand yourself better. You might even have fun.
  • Photography is an incredible tool for connecting with people. I was painfully awkward, shy and uncomfortable with strangers when I started Zeffler Photo seven years ago. Now I’m merely awkward.
  • As a parent, sometimes you need to let control go and let the kids lead the way. It might not lead to the picture perfect destination you want, but I promise it will be more fun getting there, your kids will surprise you and it will be real.
  • Great shoes make people more confident.

Photography really didn’t teach me anything. The people I photographed taught me all this and much more.

The people I’ve photographed have taught me kindness, enthusiasm, patience, how to open up and how to be present.

I am a much different person now than I was seven years ago. A patient, loving wife and terrific kids will do that to a guy. Zeffler Photo and the people I’ve worked with helped too.

As the sun sets on Zeffler Photo, I must say thank you for your time, support and unrelenting kindness. It’s had an impact on me I fail to explain in full.

I’m still figuring out what the next adventure will be.

Adios. For now.

IMG_9975-2

Comments. Like digital high-fives, or something.

